How to access between clients?

Hi, since I am new to twingate, please forgive me for anything misunderstanding.

I have a scenario that I want to remotely access to multiple devices, (e.g. from my android phone from outside to connect to home router and local machines behind it, and computers in my office). It seems that twingate only allows connections from every clients to connectors (no matter p2p or through relay)? Is twingate suitable for me, or should I use a tranditional vpn or something like wireguard?

Additionally, if I insist to use twingate, will followings work and are them secure? (Even if they are weird …)

1. Open ports from remote machines and only allow connections from connector in twingate
  2. Create mutliple remote networks and let remote machines I want to access to be connector in turn
  3. Only create one remote network, let all of them to be connector, and enable Make Connector available on local network. (Will there be conflictions? What will happen if remote network has mutiple connectors, and the services shared same names have different actions in different connectors?)

Your use case will work with Twingate very easily. If you follow the Quickstart to get started with your 1 (2 if you have a second machine that can run it) connector.

You then need to setup resources to access through twingate. You can setup individual resources such as your Home Router/FIrewall and another one for say a windows machine. With those individual resources you have fine controls over what ports are allowed.

Or you can make it easier on your self until you learn more about the controls and zero trust architecture model Twingate gives you. Simply setup your subnet as a resource, so if your home network is 192.168.0.1, create a resource called Home and use 192.168.0.1/24.

jc

2 Likes

Hi jrbhjokwqizusrqbrr (That’s an interesting name, is it Swedish?),

John’s answer is great (you trying to get on the payroll, @johnwcahill ?). Just to add a few things: